23 Noviembre de 2019 - 01 Marzo de 2020

Espacio de exhibición: Main Gallery

Curaduría: Adrian Notz

The term “End of Future” describes our situation today. According to this thesis, we have lost the concept of “future” due to different reasons. The two most prominent ones are the rapidly approaching climate catastrophe, that confronts us with a realistic doomsday scenario and the highspeed development of technology, where we can hardly imagine what we will be able to do thanks to technology in five years. In face of these megatrends’ the question arises, what we will do, if we knew the end. In a strange mix of panic and hedonism without perspective and imagination, we are actually already doing what we would do, if we knew the end: We are living totally and unconditionally in the now. Just extremely unaware and by accident.

The exhibition plays with the idea that “End of Future” as a notion may open up perspectives and imaginations into a new now. End of Future shows different approaches by artists, that deal with art-historical references, transhistorical works in abstraction, contemporary postapocalyptic situations of war and lost hopes, escapist dreams, surveillance, human and environmental catastrophes, spiritual and religious narrations and icons, playful compositions and interpretations of reality, alternative myths, personal universes of obsession, psychographies and soundscapes opening vast fields of imagination, the creation of new creatures and megalomaniac totalitarian utopias that change our understanding of politics and society. With End of Future we hope to expand the now eternally and end time, to actively and consciously use the now.


Adrian Notz


Artists: Heba Y. Amin (Egypt), Carlos Amorales (Mexico), Mihai Barabancea (Romania), Beni Bischof (Switzerland), Alexander Brener (Kazakhtan) y Barbara Schurz (Austria), Thomas Hirschhorn (Switzerland), Elsa Louise Manceaux (France), Jonathan Meese (Germany), Anca Munteanu Rimnic (Romania), Ciprian Muresan (Romania), Janiv Oron (Switzerland), Christodoulos Panayiotou (Cyprus), Augustin Rebetez (Switzerland), Jorge Satorre (Mexico), Melanie Smith (United Kingdom), Lena Maria Thüring (Switzerland), y Antonio Vega Macotela (Mexico).